Provider and policy research
Compare life-insurance providers and product facts
See who actually underwrites each product, how it is accessed and which features we could verify. No universal ‘best’ score and no hidden commission order.
A product-level comparison
The same insurer can offer multiple products with different terms. A familiar consumer brand can also be a distributor rather than the legal insurer. This table keeps those distinctions visible and leaves missing evidence as unknown.
Comparison order
A factual sort, not a product recommendation.
| Brand and legal insurer | Product / access | Premium / end age | Terminal illness / funeral | Other facts / source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
AA Life Underwriter: Asteron Life Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | AA Life Cover Distributed by the New Zealand Automobile Association; direct online route shown Shown as available | Check current AA policy wording End age: Check current AA policy wording | Product page presents Life & Living Cover; exact benefit definition must be checked in the current wording Funeral / bereavement: Check current AA policy wording | Useful example of why the consumer brand and legal insurer must be shown separately |
AIA Underwriter: AIA New Zealand Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | AIA Living Life Cover Adviser; AIA also provides quick-quote and online pathways Shown as available | Stepped with a facility to convert some or all cover to level before age 65; terms apply End age: No expiry stated by AIA | Up to 100% of Life Cover for a qualifying terminal illness with life expectancy under 12 months Funeral / bereavement: Bereavement support up to $25,000 | Worldwide cover; special-event increases; selected add-ons including waiver of premium |
Asteron Life Underwriter: Asteron Life Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | Life Insurance Adviser-assisted Shown as available; brand-transition information should be rechecked before launch | Funeral-conversion option is described; full pricing structures require current policy document End age: Not stated on the source page | Life Cover may be paid early for qualifying terminal illness; a separate early partial-payment pathway is also described Funeral / bereavement: Advance from Life Cover after a claim is accepted; amount not stated on the source page | Repatriation, financial-planning and grief-support benefits; optional premium cover and terminal-illness support |
Chubb Life Underwriter: Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | Assurance Extra — Life Cover Adviser-assisted Shown as available | Not stated on the source page End age: Not stated on the source page | Early payment of Life Cover for qualifying terminal illness; advance benefit for listed terminal conditions Funeral / bereavement: Bereavement support up to $25,000 | Life Events increases, repatriation reimbursement and optional Business Increase |
Fidelity Life Underwriter: Fidelity Life Assurance Company Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | Life cover Adviser-assisted Shown as available | Age-rated yearly renewable or level-term payments End age: No expiry stated; entry ages 16–75 | Full cover may be available early for qualifying terminal illness, generally under 12 months; an earlier partial pathway is also described Funeral / bereavement: Up to $25,000 | Inflation option, life-event increases and temporary cover suspension subject to conditions |
Partners Life Underwriter: Partners Life Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | Life Cover Adviser-assisted Shown as available | Not recorded in this launch dataset End age: Not recorded in this launch dataset | Core page states the product can support the insured person following a terminal-illness diagnosis Funeral / bereavement: Not recorded in this launch dataset | Additional product-level facts stay unpublished until current primary documentation is recorded |
Southern Cross Life Insurance Underwriter: Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited Partner panel: Not confirmed | Southern Cross Life & Living Insurance Promoted by Southern Cross; direct quote and application route Applications from 20 November 2025 | Check the current policy document End age: Check the current policy document | Early payment of full Life Cover for qualifying illness or injury with life expectancy under 12 months Funeral / bereavement: Bereavement support up to $25,000 | Life Events increase, financial/legal advice reimbursement and policy-enhancement benefit |
AA Life
AA Life Cover
Details
AA Life
AA Life Cover
Legal insurer: Asteron Life Limited
Access: Distributed by the New Zealand Automobile Association; direct online route shown
New business: Shown as available
Premium structure: Check current AA policy wording
Cover end age: Check current AA policy wording
Terminal illness: Product page presents Life & Living Cover; exact benefit definition must be checked in the current wording
Funeral / bereavement: Check current AA policy wording
Other facts: Useful example of why the consumer brand and legal insurer must be shown separately
Official source: AA Life InsuranceAIA
AIA Living Life Cover
Details
AIA
AIA Living Life Cover
Legal insurer: AIA New Zealand Limited
Access: Adviser; AIA also provides quick-quote and online pathways
New business: Shown as available
Premium structure: Stepped with a facility to convert some or all cover to level before age 65; terms apply
Cover end age: No expiry stated by AIA
Terminal illness: Up to 100% of Life Cover for a qualifying terminal illness with life expectancy under 12 months
Funeral / bereavement: Bereavement support up to $25,000
Other facts: Worldwide cover; special-event increases; selected add-ons including waiver of premium
Official source: AIA Living Life CoverAsteron Life
Life Insurance
Details
Asteron Life
Life Insurance
Legal insurer: Asteron Life Limited
Access: Adviser-assisted
New business: Shown as available; brand-transition information should be rechecked before launch
Premium structure: Funeral-conversion option is described; full pricing structures require current policy document
Cover end age: Not stated on the source page
Terminal illness: Life Cover may be paid early for qualifying terminal illness; a separate early partial-payment pathway is also described
Funeral / bereavement: Advance from Life Cover after a claim is accepted; amount not stated on the source page
Other facts: Repatriation, financial-planning and grief-support benefits; optional premium cover and terminal-illness support
Official source: Life InsuranceChubb Life
Assurance Extra — Life Cover
Details
Chubb Life
Assurance Extra — Life Cover
Legal insurer: Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited
Access: Adviser-assisted
New business: Shown as available
Premium structure: Not stated on the source page
Cover end age: Not stated on the source page
Terminal illness: Early payment of Life Cover for qualifying terminal illness; advance benefit for listed terminal conditions
Funeral / bereavement: Bereavement support up to $25,000
Other facts: Life Events increases, repatriation reimbursement and optional Business Increase
Official source: Assurance Extra — Life Cover & Life Income CoverFidelity Life
Life cover
Details
Fidelity Life
Life cover
Legal insurer: Fidelity Life Assurance Company Limited
Access: Adviser-assisted
New business: Shown as available
Premium structure: Age-rated yearly renewable or level-term payments
Cover end age: No expiry stated; entry ages 16–75
Terminal illness: Full cover may be available early for qualifying terminal illness, generally under 12 months; an earlier partial pathway is also described
Funeral / bereavement: Up to $25,000
Other facts: Inflation option, life-event increases and temporary cover suspension subject to conditions
Official source: Life coverPartners Life
Life Cover
Details
Partners Life
Life Cover
Legal insurer: Partners Life Limited
Access: Adviser-assisted
New business: Shown as available
Premium structure: Not recorded in this launch dataset
Cover end age: Not recorded in this launch dataset
Terminal illness: Core page states the product can support the insured person following a terminal-illness diagnosis
Funeral / bereavement: Not recorded in this launch dataset
Other facts: Additional product-level facts stay unpublished until current primary documentation is recorded
Official source: Life CoverSouthern Cross Life Insurance
Southern Cross Life & Living Insurance
Details
Southern Cross Life Insurance
Southern Cross Life & Living Insurance
Legal insurer: Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited
Access: Promoted by Southern Cross; direct quote and application route
New business: Applications from 20 November 2025
Premium structure: Check the current policy document
Cover end age: Check the current policy document
Terminal illness: Early payment of full Life Cover for qualifying illness or injury with life expectancy under 12 months
Funeral / bereavement: Bereavement support up to $25,000
Other facts: Life Events increase, financial/legal advice reimbursement and policy-enhancement benefit
Official source: Southern Cross Life & Living Insurance featuresDefine the need
Cover a debt, replace household funding or meet a future cost?
Compare the same assumptions
Same person, cover amount, structure, options and payment frequency.
Read before replacing
A new application can introduce exclusions, loadings or declined cover.
What the table deliberately does not do
No overall winner from unlike facts
- No insurer is ranked by a referral payment.
- A missing feature is marked unknown, not treated as absent.
- Legacy policies are not presented as current new-business products.
- Claims statistics and strength ratings are excluded until definitions and periods can be compared consistently.
- Actual partner-panel access remains ‘not confirmed’ until a written operating agreement exists.
Choose the next useful step
Estimate a household funding gap or compare premium structures over time.
